Hustler Fund Top-Up: Ruto Pledges Extra KSh 5B for Small Borrowers Before Year EndHustler Fund Top-Up: Ruto Pledges Extra KSh 5B for Small Borrowers Before Year End
Key Highlights
- The government says it will inject another KSh 5B ($38.53M) into the Hustler Fund before the end of 2026, a top-up aimed at the small traders who rely on its loans.
- The President said the fund has more than 10 million regular borrowers and has advanced KSh 98B ($755.18M) without collateral, figures that are his claims and not independently verified.
- The source of the money and any change to loan limits were not stated.
The government will inject an additional KSh 5B ($38.53M) into the Hustler Fund before the end of 2026, President William Ruto said on 20 October.
The pledge matters to small traders and informal businesses that use the fund for working capital, because more capital could widen how much it can lend. The speech did not say where the money will come from or whether individual loan limits will change.
What was announced
Mr Ruto made the pledge in his Mashujaa Day address in Eldoret. He said the extra KSh 5B would be added before the end of the year, with the stated purpose of expanding credit to borrowers and supporting more businesses.
He said the fund has more than 10 million regular borrowers and that KSh 98B ($755.18M) has been advanced without collateral. These figures come from the President's speech as reported, and Mwenendo has not independently verified them against fund records published by the National Treasury.
What is not stated
The announcement did not name the budget line or supplementary estimate that would carry the KSh 5B. It also gave no figures on repayment rates, defaults or the average loan size, all of which determine how far new capital stretches.
Without those numbers, it is not possible to say how many additional borrowers the top-up could serve. The fund's lending record will be the test of whether extra money reaches new users or recycles through existing ones.
Links to traders' demands
Small traders have raised access to credit as a constraint. Mwenendo earlier reported on how traders in Ndhiwa raised limited credit and weak infrastructure with government officials, who pointed to the Hustler Fund among their responses.
Why it matters for borrowers
For a market trader, the practical question is whether the top-up raises what they can borrow and when. Until the Treasury publishes the funding source and any revised terms, the pledge remains an announcement, and borrowers should rely on the fund's official channels for changes to limits.
In Summary
- Who made the pledge?
- President William Ruto.
- What was pledged?
- An additional KSh 5B ($38.53M) for the Hustler Fund.
- When will the money be added?
- Before the end of 2026.
- Where was it announced?
- At the Mashujaa Day celebrations in Eldoret on 20 October 2026.
- Why add the money?
- To expand credit to borrowers and support more businesses.
- How will it be funded?
- Not stated in the speech.